Pandemic Paralysis

I haven’t been able to do any writing for weeks. Not even a journal entry. I am managing to keep producing the Portal, but that’s been about it. No walking. Indeed, I spent pretty much all of June in bed.

       I am now boycotting the news. I just can’t stand to read about any more stupidity. And I am going to move heaven and earth to stay out of bed when I’m not sleeping, as much as humanly possible, and to start getting my walks in again.

Illegitimi non carborundum— mock Latin; genuine sentiment.

Published by the medieval gnome

Teacher, reader, I was briefly a small businessman, fulfilling a life-long dream of owning my own game store. In the past 15 years I have become an ardent Terry Pratchett fan, hence my podcast, "The Discworld Portal. Teaching is in my blood, and at age 62 I seek to pursue practicing my craft online.

One thought on “Pandemic Paralysis

  1. Dear Medieval Gnome,

    One of the trappings of our modern world is that great, big events seem bigger than they are, while incremental improvements and signs of hope are easily overlooked. Next to these huge, all encompassing movements, our own actions may seem insignificant, but they are not.

    To me, this really is the heart of the discworld series. The characters are never secondary to the story, they are its most interesting aspect. The state of the world is important, yes. But only because of the lives it touches. We are all important in this world, not because of the big things we do to affect it in a visible way, but because of the small things we do to make it a little more interesting.

    All of this is to say, I’m glad you decided to leave the news be for a while.

    And for what it’s worth, I think you are making a difference. By being understanding and kind and compassionate, you are helping others be decent as well.

    I hope you are doing ok. Sometimes the only way out is through.Though I may not believe in any god, I do believe, however tenuously, in mercy.

    Sincerely,
    Olaf

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.